One Foot in Front of the Other

Yesterday was a frustrating day. When I attempted to run, my stitches screamed, “No!” before I could even get a half mile down the road. I decided to listen to my body…or rather, my stitches, and not run.

Later that day, my high school classmate and friend, Mike Colyer, accidentally called me. I was in the middle of another call so I wasn’t able to answer. It turns out Mike just accidentally butt-dialed me.

Mike and I at our 20-Year Class Reunion

Mike: Sorry, just butt dialed you. Hope you’re having a good day.

Me: You mean you didn’t mean to call me? Bummer.

Mike: Next time I will mean it. That is a promise.

Me: Hey! I signed up to run the Nashville mini-marathon and started training.

Mike: I am training for the Benton Harbor 1/2 myself. Good luck! Just keep putting one foot in front of the other!

As I started my run today, I reflected on the days since I had my incision, the ugly stitches on my thigh, the scar they might leave, and the lost days of training. Four, to be exact. I should be jogging my entire training route by now. After all, it’s only 2 miles.

Then I remembered Mike’s simple words of advice. Just keep putting one foot in front of the other.

I turned off the grumpy voice in my head. I simply focused on continuing to put one foot in front of the other. Before I knew it, I was half way through my route. I kept jogging. I don’t think I actually experienced a runner’s high but, instead of wanting to keel over, my breathing became easier and I felt lighter.

All of this time, I had been making it harder than it was. Granted, I am still out of shape and far from physically fit. But with Mike’s simple words of encouragement, I was able to jog my entire route. All because of a butt-dial.

Sometimes God really does work in mysterious ways. Thanks Mike!

Leave a Reply

