A Mystery

Wordle: ClaudineReneeGetsFit

Click to Check Out My Wordle

I never know what my run will be like. It’s always a mystery.

Saturday I could not wait to get to the TREC. I just knew I was going to have a fabulous run.

Not so much.

After running 5 miles on Thursday, I assured myself that 3 miles would be a walk in the park. It was a walk alright. It felt like their was lead in my thighs. Well…nevermind. The first mile dragged. I stepped up the incline for the next half mile to challenge myself but had to slow my pace. I was happy just to finish.

Afterwards, disappointment settled in. How would I ever run 13.1 miles if I couldn’t get used to running 3?

This evening I headed to the gym dreading my run. Since Saturday, the symptoms of a nasty cold have come and gone. Instead of running, I rested…for 3 days. Surely, running 3 miles would take a bit longer tonight. Plus, I had just eaten dinner. Rule #13 – Never run on a full stomach.

I started off with a the goal of simply running 40 minutes. Okay…not even running…just moving for 40 minutes. It wasn’t long before I realized I felt good. Really good! I completed my first mile in 12 minutes. Recognizing my heart rate was too high, however, I slowed down. I continued with intervals for the rest of the time. Not only did I run the entire time, I completed 3.2 miles.

From this point forward, if I’m having an awful day, I may just find out what mystery the track or the treadmill has in store for me.

4 thoughts on “A Mystery

  1. Way to go:) I cant believe I just did the exact same thing! Lead legs then then next day I kicked butt:) We gotta keep on trucking, Sista! It is going to be a great race and awesome trip to “Hollywood w/a Touch of Twang:)”

Leave a Reply

