Have a Thin Mint

I have to admit that I am a bit disappointed that, despite all of my hard work, I haven’t lost a pound yet. While I’m certainly not starving myself, I have been watching my calorie intake, eating healthier and cutting back on empty or negative calories such as Diet Coke, alcohol, and simple sugars (cookies, cake, donuts and other gross stuff that sits in your stomach like a rock).

A typical day looks like this.

Breakfast: 1/2 cup Oatmeal – 150 calories; 1 tablespoon of brown sugar – 52 calories; Walunuts – Coffee w/creamer – 57 calories

Snack1 cup Cinnamon Cheerios – 110 calories

Lunch: Turkey sandwich – 230 calories; Wheat Thins – 130 calories; Olives – 20 calories

Dinner: Roast Chicken (w/the skin) – 900 calories; green beans – 40 calories; baked potato – 278 calories; 1 tbsp Shedd’s Spread butter – 60 calories; water – 0 calories

I try to include a good fat (walnuts, olives, sunflower seeds) at two of three meals (or for a snack) and eat approximately 2,000 calories a day (give or take 100 calories).

Based on a 2,000 calorie daily diet and my level of exercise, I should lose a pound each week. Not so much. At least not yet.

I realize I am building muscle. I can actually feel a difference in how my clothes fit and see my body getting more tone. However, I still want to see those numbers on the scale go down.

Some foods can fool you. For example, Nutri-Grain Cereal Bars seem like a healthy choice. Only 140 calories and 3 grams of fat. Score! Right? Wrong. They contain high fructose corn syrup which I avoid at all costs. Healthy Choice Frozen Lunches? Enough sodium to melt the ice on your driveway. Yoplait Light yogurt? Yum! Full of aspartame -which is just a fancy scientific name for artificial sugar. It makes me sick to my stomach so I’ll pass.

What are some better choices?

Instead of the Nutri-Grain bar, have 1 cup of Cheerios or a 1/2 cup of oatmeal. Add some walnuts to add a healthy mono-unsaturated fat to your diet.

Replace frozen meals with as many natural foods as possible.

Opt for Activia yogurt instead of yogurts with artificial sweeteners. It has no added artificial sugar. It also contains probiotics which will help regulate your digestive system.

My favorite snack is 5 olives and a handful of sunflower seeds. MUFAs galore!

Guess what else is a MUFA? Dark chocolate! So, in the meantime, have a Thin Mint!

One thought on “Have a Thin Mint

Leave a Reply

