Walking is not an Option

When I first started training last January for my half-marathon, my motto was simply, “Just finish.”

Oh…that and “Don’t suck.”

So I did “just finish” the half-marathon but I did totally suck. It took me 3 hours, 8 minutes and 50 seconds to finish my first half-marathon. Never mind that the hills were WAY more than I ever expected.

Note to self: Don’t run your first half-marathon in Nashville. It is very hilly.

I wasn’t last but I certainly was close. Out of 13,966 women, I finished at 10,981. My 5K pace was 40:20 and my 10K pace was 1:23:47. I averaged a 14:25 mile. Most people can walk that fast.

Therefore, my new motto, for my next half-marathon is “Walking is not an option.”

Now I just need to find a race.

Leave a Reply

